C25K, Week Three

Yes, week three. I know it’s been about a month and a half, but I gave myself some do-overs on weeks one and two. (Apparently, I’m actually in need of a Coma to 5K program, which allows a slower start.)

Anyway, it’s a good thing I did. Because today was the first day of week three, and I did it all! Here’s how it broke down:

  • 5-minute warm-up walk
  • 90-second run
  • 90-second walk
  • 3-minute run
  • 3 minute walk
  • 90-second run
  • 90-second walk
  • 3-minute run
  • 5-minute cool-down walk

I was scared of those three-minute runs, but as each one started I just looked at my watch, counted up three minutes and chanted that number in my head as I ran. … 7:20:12 … 7:20:12 … 7:20:12 … I willed myself not to look at my watch until I was pretty sure that number was coming up. Each time I was just a few seconds away. Whew!

It helps that it’s nice and cool out this morning. I really should have started this whole thing in the fall. I had no idea what a difference 10 degrees could make on a morning run.

One Response to C25K, Week Three

  1. Maimsey says:

    Oh, Le-lo! I’m so pleased for you that week 3 is off to a good start! It sounds like you’re mastering the whole mind-over-matter part of running. I’m so proud of you for doing this! And I’ll be looking out for your patented Coma-to-5K program! Ha!

Leave a Reply

